The Reverend John Douglas of Melbourne organized the Wesleyan Methodist Society in Sherbrooke and remained as its first pastor. They met in a building at the corner of Commercial (now Dufferin) and Court streets
They moved to a larger building on Chapel Street
Their name was changed to Sherbrooke Methodist Church when they built a new church at the corner of King and Gordon streets (The current location of St. Patrick's United Church). Note the strong architectural similarity with the current Plymouth-Trinity building, which was built four years earlier. This building was destroyed by fire in 1912.
An Estey Cabinet organ was installed in the King Street church between 1875 and 1878.
A new church was built on the corner of Court and William streets with a seating capacity of 600, at a cost of $23,000.
The horse sheds were demolished and Wesley Hall was built, with Sunday School rooms, a meeting hall and a state. It was dedicated in 1912.
A 3-manual Canadian pipe organ from St. Hyacinthe was installed on May 19, 1914.
Formation, Nationwide, of the United Church of Canada
Sherbrooke Methodist Church became Trinity United Church.
4th of Advent
Bilingual service at 10:30 with Holy Communion.
Culte bilingue avec communion à 10 h 30.
Join us at Plymouth-Trinity for a family-friendly worship experience. We have a children's corner in the sanctuary with craft supplies and helpful volunteers. Some Sundays there is also a 30-minute children's programme during worship-time for kids of all ages.