Plymouth Congregational Church unanimously voted to become Plymouth United Church.
The Casavant Organ was electrified.
Plymouth United Church was threatened with demolition in order to build the St. Francois bridge. After public outcry, the construction of this bridge was postponed until the 1960s.
Morning services were broadcast free of charge on CHLT from Plymouth, Trinity, and other protestant churches in Sherbrooke from 1942-1967.
The Carillon bells in the tower were dedicated on November 16, 1947, as a memorial to those who served in the Second World War.
The church was damaged by a fire which began in the lower hall on March 07, 1952. Members worshipped at Trinity United until the building was cleaned and repaired; it reopened for worship on June 15, 1952.
The brakes on a Sherbrooke-St. Denis bus failed and it smashed into the Plymouth building on May 05, 1954, destroying the steps and breaking one of the wooden pillars.
The Women's Association, the Women's Missionary and the Ladies Guild became the United Church Women (U.C.W.) with a charter membership of 93.
From the U.C.W, the first woman was appointed to the Board of Stewards.
The Pont St. Francois (Terrill Street) bridge was built, and a parking lot was added behind the church.
Plymouth United Church and Trinity United Church came together to form Plymouth-Trinity United Church.
4th of Advent
Bilingual service at 10:30 with Holy Communion.
Culte bilingue avec communion à 10 h 30.
Join us at Plymouth-Trinity for a family-friendly worship experience. We have a children's corner in the sanctuary with craft supplies and helpful volunteers. Some Sundays there is also a 30-minute children's programme during worship-time for kids of all ages.